Success

Success; the accomplishment of an aim or purpose. Would you continue reading if I told you that I know how you can make a million dollars in a short period? Of course you would, who wouldn’t? Sadly, I don’t know how to make a million dollars, sorry. You know who does know how to though? Bill Gates, did you know that at 17 Bill sold his first computer program for $4,200 according to Zernin. Bill is also one of the richest men in the world with a net worth of $72.7 billion. That all was achieved with hard work and a goal. So would you listen to Bill Gates? If I told you that you can make it to the Olympics one day would you believe me? Probably not, I’m no athletic person or fortune teller. I bet if Michael Phelps said you could make it to the Olympics you’d believe him. His confidence got him a long way, now he’s putting his confidence in you. Now it’s time for you to give yourself confidence. If you had a dream to climb Mt Everest or go Sky Diving you’d work hard and achieve those dreams, right? That is what success is, working hard, believing in yourself, putting in effort, and learning from others.

Now, others will more than likely disagree with my view on what success truly is. Some may say success is making $500k+ a year, or simple things like raising a family, or graduating school. As you can see though each of those fall under my meaning of success, working hard and believing in yourself so I see no argument on this topic. Everyone experiences success in their lives. Almost everything good thing you do can be considered successful. Taking out the trash, washing your car, getting a paycheck, graduating, passing a test. If you didn’t fail any of those tasks, then they were all a success, right? I guess the real question you have to ask yourself is, what is success to you?

My first successful moment; at least to me, was when I won an art contest in 5th grade to have one of my drawings on the yearbook cover. I absolutely love art. I was so happy and honestly to this day that is still my #1 successful moment. My mom actually framed the yearbook and I still have it to this day it’s an elementary drawing, but it’s a very happy memory and my very first successful moment. Now every time I feel like things are getting tough and I’m never going to get a money-making job I look back to that drawing and suddenly I believe in myself again. Yes, success is about working hard, believing in yourself, and etc, but happiness also plays a key role. If you achieve all your dreams and are not happy then clearly it wasn’t a success and clearly there’s a problem with your dreams. According to Shawn Achor on a Forbes article, “Your brain works significantly better at positive than at negative, neutral or stressed.  Every single business and educational outcome improves when we start at positive rather than waiting for a future success.” So, in other words, be happy! Do what makes you happy, it’ll be a success I promise. Mine was.

Another big successful moment for me was graduation. 2 years of pre-school, Kindergarten, then 1st-12th grade all led up to that very moment. I spent 15 years of school living with my parents, passing all my classes, saving money, making friends, adventuring. It was all amazing yes, but look where I’m at now. Living on my own, paying my own bills, having my own responsibilities; yes it sucks, but I’m prepared. I look back now and realize that every terrible decision was a success, every failing grade was a success, every lesson was a success, and every failed friendship was a success. You may be thinking, why does she think those were all successes? My answer is because look how evolved and happy I am right now in life. If none of those things happened before college I have no idea what kind of person I’d be right now. I worked my butt off for probably half of those 15 years and some of those years I had no life and was a book worm, but in the end it was all worth it. No matter what everything you do in life is a success whether you see it now or not.

So, I’m sure you can agree with me that working hard, believing in yourself, putting in effort, and learning from others is the true meaning of what success is. Mine was winning an art contest and graduating, yours could be saving up your first $100, becoming a doctor, or simply buying a pair of shoes, but if you work hard and always believe in yourself, success will follow in your footsteps.

 

 

Works Cited

Caprino, Kathy. “How Happiness Directly Impacts Your Success.” Forbes. Forbes

Magazine, 06 June 2013. Web. 06 Nov. 2016.

Fischer-Zernin, Maxime. “10 Ridiculous Facts About How Rich Bill Gates Is.” Mic.

News.Mic, 25 Oct. 2015. Web. 06 Nov. 2016.

 

Leave a Reply

