Good Work Ethic=Successful Life

“The principle that hard work is intrinsically virtuous or worthy of reward”, the true meaning of work ethic. Now my definition of work ethic was just “hey mom dad do you have $20”.  Then the day came when I turned 18 and had to grow up. Nobody ever said that being an adult was going to be absolutely terrible. Nobody mentioned that having a social life was practically nonexistent and nobody bothered to mention that I was going to start receiving lots of bills. To be honest we’re all unprepared. I thought I was prepared, but nope. I have two jobs and go to school full time. And let me tell you if I didn’t have a good work ethic I think I’d be living on the streets. Even though I was taught a lot when I was growing up like how to pay bills, how to manage credit cards, and how to build credit, that only prepared me for 25% of the real world. I’ve come to learn that if you want to be successful in life you honestly have to have a good work ethic and if you don’t have a good work ethic then you’re really not going to go far in life.

I came from a privileged school in the Grand Rapids area. I personally do not come from a wealthy family, but I did grow up around a lot of individuals that did. Many of those individuals were my closest friends. I have to say before I turned 16 I had the most terrible work ethic all I wanted to do was socialize, hang out with my friends, and go to school events. Oh and guess whose money I used for all those things. My parents! I don’t regret it though I was a kid, I loved life, but then one day something pretty tragic happened. My mom was diagnosed with cancer. My mom is okay now, but everything went downhill for my family. My parents were so far in debt due to medical bills that we almost lost our house. All of us kids that were able to work had to. There was no more of my parents paying for any of us. That meant our car insurance, phone bills, gasoline, anything we wanted we had to pay for ourselves. Therefore, I started working at Brann’s as a hostess, now I was making $8.15 an hour that was not going to pay for much so I worked about 30 hours a week. Do I regret it? No, because look where I am now, living on my own and paying for everything on my own with money left over to save. I’m proud of myself. I feel accomplished and successful. And what do I have to thank for that. A good work ethic.

When working for Brann’s it was always very busy. There was always the super nice customers and the occasional rude customers. Well one day I was working and the restaurant was extremely packed. There was this large group of individuals that took up our whole Room B except for one table. I happened to be seating that table and an individual from the larger group stopped me and said “How would you like to come work for my company”? Now I was pretty shocked and thought he was kidding, but no I was offered a job while I was working at my one job. My future boss told me he has never seen someone with such good character working in a restaurant before, someone with so much professionalism, respect and someone with such good work ethic for working in a restaurant at the age of 16. That night I was incredibly happy. I was so blessed that my parents pushed me during our tragic time to do things on my own. I had the what ifs in my mind the whole night. What if my mom didn’t get cancer, what if I didn’t go to a privileged school, what if my parents didn’t spend time teaching me financial responsibilities? Every single one of the life obstacles I went through and hated led up to my success. With the help of my parents and life lessons I was lucky to have learned to have a good work ethic. Actually a rock solid work ethic.

Remember those privileged friends I was talking about earlier? Well they still to this day live off of their parents, none of them have jobs, none of them even know what a work ethic is. Most of them haven’t had to work for their college education because their parents are paying it for them. Honestly I got so wrapped up in working hard that I kind of drifted away from that friend group. When I would hang out with them I’d get so annoyed. It’d bother me so much to just see their parents hand them money whenever they wanted it, I was so ashamed that I used to be like that. I never want to go back to being that person, it’s my daily goal to be better than I was a week ago, to work harder so in the future I can be relaxed and happy, not still living at home off of my parents.

Having a good work ethic is so important and I wish everyone felt the same way. I need to stress the fact that you will not get anywhere in life if you do not work hard.  Working hard is the #1 key to success in my book. Yes, life will be absolutely boring and terrible for a few years, but in the end it is worth it. And in the end if you feel that working hard for all of those years wasn’t worth it, that just means you didn’t work hard enough!

Leave a Reply

